Nuh nuh nuh nuh… BATMAN!~

WELL~ I just got home after spending a few hours on my hands and knees scraping floors, mopping them, moving heavy racks off the floors so they could be waxed.  I sure as heck am going to get some great sleep tonight. xD Well, during work today my best friend came into the store wielding Flarp.  You know what flarp is right? The squishy, gooey substance they sell in little containers that make farting noises? Yeah. That Flarp.  Well, he followed me around the store ‘farting’ at me while I was cleaning up, mopping and whatnot.  Being the child that he is, he was awfully amused.  Being the child that I am, I was giggling the whole damn time. I’m sure my boss just adores me, lol.

So, speaking of our childishness, my buddy also brought home some Pez for me the other night. I was thrilled!  And no, it’s not just any Pez…  Check this out!!!!!

BATMAN!  He got himself Ironman, in case you can’t tell from the first picture.  So here is my public shoutout to said friend: You are a badass.  Love you!

I finally finished a headshot commission that I was working on for Makopoison@Gaiaonline.com.  It took me much longer than I wanted but I’m sooo pleased with how it turned out. I tried a few different things with how I painted it and I had a lot of helpful guidance from a friend of mine, Yingzair.  This is Mako’s original character, Synnata.  I’ll also be completing a fullbody drawing of her very soon.

 

I really enjoy doing headshot commissions.  Unlike fullbodies, I feel like I have more room to focus on the facial features.  Granted, I was going for a ‘harder’ expression with Synnata here and she turned out almost expressionless…. *sad*.  Nevertheless, I think she turned out pretty–especially her eyes.  The hair gave me quite the challenge… I swear I redrew this whole thing at least 30 times!!!!  I feel from this commission and my couple of recent artistic projects that, although I feel I’ve been doing well, my art has sort of hit the ceiling when I consider how much its been improving.  I feel like I’m cranking out the same kind of art one right after another with little to no improvement.  So, this is about the time where I want to start challenging myself. I’m going to keep any eye out for some new methods of painting in Photoshop.  I’m also going to try to focus more on hand drawing these instead of exclusive digital work.  Yingzair makes a great point that traditional work is often under-appreciated.  It is an area in which I want to improve, and I think my new drawing class up at my college is going to help me with that goal.  It’s an exciting thought. =)

This Sunday I’ll be heading out to a park in town that I really love to work on some of my personal drawings and some homework for that class. Yingzair will be meeting me there for some quality time, and overall I think it’s going to be a good day. I’ll take some pictures for you guys!  Until then, much love WordPress and friends! ❤

Leave a comment